Review Policy

Jordan's Genres

Middle-Grade Fiction: I generally don't read this genre, but if you've got something along the lines of Percy JacksonSeptimus Heap, Spiderwick Chronicles, or Redwall, you've got my attention.

YA and Adult Fiction: Fantasy / Paranormal / Sci-Fi / Humor / Romance. If it's witchy, fae, gothic, superhero, or fantasy, it has my interest. I mainly enjoy character-driven books with a dash of romance. Anything for fans of Throne of Glass, Six of CrowsEragon, Terry Pratchett, Sherrilyn Kenyon, Nalini Singh, or Neil Gaiman is up my alley.

Nonfiction: Lore, mythology, ancient cultures, or books on writing. If it talks about fictitious stuff and/or I can use it as a writing reference, I'm in.

Kori's Genres

Middle-Grade Fiction: The genre that sealed my fate as a book lover. If it involves epic quests, magic, mythology, or monsters, I'll probably enjoy taking a break with these easy reads. Think the Riordanverse or the Magic Tree House books.

YA and Adult Fiction: Fantasy / Paranormal are my go-tos. Anything by or for fans of Sarah J Maas, Leigh Bardugo, or Holly Black is going to pique my interest. I'll cave on the occasional romance if it has a compelling plot and good character arcs.

Nonfiction: Pretty much what Jordan listed—ancient cultures, lore, and mythology; philosophy and psychology; and books on the mystical arts or writing.

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

ATTENTION

We are not currently accepting review requests. Any emails regarding reviews will not receive a reply at this time. Please check back later to see if we've re-opened them. Thanks!

 

 

Coffee, Book, & Candle accepts review requests for traditional, self-published, and ARC books in print or ebook format. Generally, we will have a review published within 2-3 weeks of receiving the book, but time frames may vary depending on the length and complexity of the novel, as well as the amount of backlog we have. We will give a more accurate projected date upon acceptance of the book.

Fiction is preferred; the nonfiction exceptions can be found in the author preferences below. You may request a review from a specific author or allow us to decide who will give the review. It is recommended you read at least a couple of our reviews to familiarize yourself with our style. Please see our preferred genres to make sure your book is a good fit for us.

Send review requests to coffeebookandcandle@gmail.com with "Review Request" in the subject. We will require a 1-2 chapter sample before accepting a book.

DISCLAIMERS

Though we strive for fairness in all reviews, it does not guarantee high praise. Reviews reflect our subjective reading experience and shall not be swayed by promises of sweets or coffee, no matter how much we love them. Our reviews may contain spoilers, which we will mark appropriately. We reserve the right to decline review requests. Please do not include attachments until we have accepted your request. They will be deleted unread.